Whangarei Leader

Published: Tuesday
Editor Nick Unkovich
Sales Contact Info Sales Manager: Arlene Lattimer
138 Bank Street
Ph: +64 9 438 8636
[email protected]

The Whangarei Leader was founded in 1992 and has a proud record as a community newspaper serving readers in the Whangarei district.

The paper was sold to Independent Newspapers Ltd (INL) in 2000 and came under the management of Independent Community Newspapers Ltd (ICN) based in Pukekohe, which already managed three other Northland newspapers - Northern News, The Bay Chronicle and Dargaville & District News.

INL was sold to Fairfax Media in July 2003, which included the Leader. Since July 2004 the Whangarei Leader has been managed by Suburban Newspapers Ltd, based in Auckland.

The Whangarei Leader is delivered throughout the Whangarei district from Waipu to Oakura, including coastal and rural areas.

Urban Areas include: Whau Valley, Tikipunga, Woodhill, Parahaki, Kamo, Kensington, Raumanga, Onerahi, Otangarei, Otaika, Morningside, Maunu, Regent, Horahora, Hikurangi, Ruakaka and Waipu.

Rural Areas include: Whangarei RD1, RD2, RD3, RD4, RD5, RD6, RD8, RD9.

Post Counters include: Waipu, Ruakaka, Titoki, Whananaki, Taurikura, Ngunguru, Whangaruru, Maungatapere, and Maungakaramea.